Asteroid 666 Desdemona – A Shakespearean Tragedy   Leave a comment

Othello_and_Desdemona_by_Alexandre-Marie_Colin

And his unkindness may defeat my life, But never taint my love.

Desdemona is a complex asteroid, with many affects depending on the natal position.

Desdemona in aspect to Sun, Leo or 5th house:

I am one, sir, that comes to tell you your daughter
and the Moor are now making the beast with two backs.

My noble father,
I do perceive here a divided duty.
To you I am bound for life and education.
My life and education both do learn me
How to respect you. You are the lord of my duty,
I am hitherto your daughter. But here’s my husband,
And so much duty as my mother showed
To you, preferring you before her father,
So much I challenge that I may profess
Due to the Moor my lord.

Who is good enough for my daughter, Desdemona in this position in the natal chart may show a father who like Desdemona’s father feels her choice is not good enough, either through protective issues or obsessions over social standing.  Desdemona chooses Othello over her father and this drives a wedge between them.  Desdemona in Leo or aspect to sun may indicate loss of father through circumstance too.

Desdemona in aspect to Pluto, Scorpio and 8th house:

So sweet was ne’er so fatal. I must weep. But they are cruel tears. This sorrow’s heavenly; it strikes where it doth love.

The fresh streams ran by her, and murmer’d her moans
Sing willow, willow, willow
Her salt tears fell from her and soft’ned the stones.

Let nobody blame him, his scorn I approve
Sing willow, willow, willow
He was born to be fair, I to die for his love,

 

Othello kills Desdemona in a jealous rage, this planet can signify domestic abuse in childhood, where the child is the audience of this Shakespearean tragedy unfolding.  When Uranus is also in aspect the child is wary as an adult, they’ve seen the path relationships can go down and they may be against formal commitments such as marriage as they want to ensure escape routes are always open.

Other Desdemona issues include different sides of family not speaking, mirroring our parents relationships, false accusations of adultery etc.

Leave a comment